Reading Queue

I have noticed lately that I am not reading nearly as much as I usually do. I was staring at a computer for at least 10 hours a day during my former job reading blogs, and I usually just wanted to close my eyes after work.

I also unfortunately have had a hard time reading without a pen in hand, waiting for a gem to underline or mark or analyze.

In order to give myself a healthy dose of both fun and academic reading, I’ve decided to create a reading queue, that alternates between a fun, fast pleasure read and a longer more verbose (and usually more thought-provoking) read. I’ll most likely be reading at least two at a time, anyways. My goal is to get these read by February.

Queue:

1. Elizabeth Berg’s Year of Pleasures

2. Grapes of Wrath, John Steinbeck

3. The Darcy Connection, Elizabeth Aston

4. Ulysses, James Joyce

5. The Happiness Project, Gretchin Rubin

6. Colette’s complete works

7. Hunger Games Trilogy

8. Cranford, Elizabeth Gaskell

9. White Teeth, Zadie Smith

10. The Omnivore’s Dilemma, Michael Pollan

11. Anna Karenina, Leo Tolstoy

12. The Year of Living Famously, Laura Caldwell

This is what I have so far, but I would like to get this list to 15, so let me know if you have any suggestions!

***So, there is no way that I will be able to read all of these by February 1st- I was really thinking more in terms of through the month of February, and even that might be a stretch 🙂

Miss E

11 comments on “Reading Queue

  1. Jennifer Lynn Krohn says:

    How about The Autobiography of Red by Anne Carson?

  2. How about Bunmi’s English 101 and 102 portfolios? Come on. Who says I never share?

  3. I am adding Wicked by Gregory Maguire

  4. […] number one on the aforementioned Winter Book List ticked off and read: The Year of Pleasures, by the author Elizabeth Berg. Look at the delicious […]

  5. Death Comes to Pemberley by P.D. James (don’t know how you’ll feel about it, but so far, I personally am enjoying it) and The Four Agreements by Don Miguel Ruiz. :}

  6. […] I am still reading the books from my ridiculously ambitious list as mentioned in this post.  […]

  7. […] I made that reading queue a little while back, if you recall. If you do not, you may find it here. […]

Leave a Reply

