Great Dane, Reading the OED

I bought Ammon Shea’s book, Reading the OEa couple of weeks ago, but haven’t had a chance to read it yet. It looks pretty good, and is about one man’s experience reading through the OED (Oxford English Dictionary).

Instead, I found my housemate’s dog curled up with the book and sleeping in the sun. It was too fun not to share!

Curled up with "Reading the OED"

She is a beautiful Great Dane, but still loves to curl up with a book occasionally.

I wonder how this is comfortable, but I definitely know what it’s like to fall asleep while reading 😉

Do your pets ever fall asleep on your books?

Hope your Sunday is going well!

Miss E

 

11 comments on “Great Dane, Reading the OED

  1. juliehhicks says:

    Our cats prefer falling asleep on newspaper (or anything made of paper really) but strangely no books. A close second tends to be the clean laundry before it has a chance to get folded. 🙂

  2. babso2you says:

    Maybe the pooch will be like Edgar Cayce, and wake up knowing the book from cover to cover? Our dog does not read, but does watch the TV. I cannot tell you how many times I have had to tell him that standing too close to the TV will ruin his eyes! Now the cats and books are different stories. They have to be right in the middle of whatever it is I am reading! Looks like a comfy bed that the dog has commandeered too! What a life!

  3. Leah Mosher says:

    This is too adorable! Great danes are such sweethearts 🙂

  4. falskywolf says:

    My kitty falls asleep on everything from my jackets to books to paintings that I’m trying to work on RIGHT THEN AND THERE. It’s adorable, although paint and cat fuzz don’t exactly behave well together.

  5. Lily says:

    Great danes are wonderful dogs! Thanks for sharing!

  6. zannyro says:

    We had three great danes over the course of my teen years…LOVED THEM!!

  7. debbrunson says:

    That’s fantastic 🙂

Leave a Reply

