Excited to See “Emma, The Musical”

Hello readers! Happy Wednesday!

Tonight I am going to see the theater adaptation of Jane Austen’s Emma with a meetup group I joined a while back. It should be a fun night, and I am very excited about it.

I read a review of the musical today that was not so enthusiastic.

Photo credit: Charles McNulty

It was also not a diatribe. The reviewer was ambivalent about performance he saw  but I am still excited to see it!

The one I’m going to see is a student performace, and after reading the reviews surrounding it, I don’t have any great expectations.

I do love Jane Austen, and I also love musicals, so this seems like a wonderful combination.

Since I started blogging, I have learned about so many more adaptations than I had ever seen or heard of before, and I count that as a major benefit.

Once I see the “Musical and Romantic Comedy,” I will certainly share my opinion of it here with you!

Best,

Miss E

 

4 comments on “Excited to See “Emma, The Musical”

  1. Geoff W says:

    It sounds exciting – I’m planning on seeing a stage production of Pride and Prejudice I randomly found a flyer for in my local library.

  2. A Novel Place says:

    One of my friends is playing Emma in an adaption in Calgary. It opens in a little over a month, so I’ll definitely let you know my thoughts on it when I see it.
    For me, personally, however, I’m always hesitant when it comes to theatrical portrayals of classic literature pieces. I absolutely love theatre, but sometimes I think they should leave well enough alone.

  3. Cool – I never thought to put Jane Austen and musical theater together, but I would probably go too 🙂 Looking forward to hearing how it was!

  4. […] did mention the night in yesterday’s post here. However, some of you will disappointed, (others will be relieved, I’m sure), to know that the […]

Leave a comment